Product: Bookvip Vacation Package Booking Clear all filters (75 of 75 reviews match)
Filter by rating
filters
Seller:
Show
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Scam

Dear Martha,

We appreciate the opportunity to address your comments.

Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a reservation using the telephone number and email address reflected on your review and we did not receive a response to our attempts to reach you via telephone.

The vacation packages offered on BookVIP.com are sponsored by the participating resort provider who is paying the 77% discount. BookVIP is a booking company and it is our job to ensure that guests are qualified for the limited number of promotional packages being offered by the resort providers.

The eligibility requirements (and any additional taxes, fees, etc.) for each promotional package are located at the bottom of the resort offering page on our website and are reviewed with the customer during the sales call.

Based on your review, it appears you made an open-dated reservation(s) on-line and secured the reservation(s) with a partial deposit.

When you called to set your dates and finalize the reservation, you were advised of the eligibility requirements and the total cost of the package. It is possible that your requested travel dates were during peak season, when some resorts impose surcharges – which is customary in the industry.

We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.

James Colligan
Owner
BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Review
#1053188 Review #1053188 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised

I've spend two half days of my life that I will never get back getting excited and researching two great looking trips from bookvip.com only to find out when I got ready to book dates that there was a ton of fine print and additional fees. What a mess.

I think that is their hook. You spend so much time getting excited and preparing to book that when they start ripping you off you're willing to do and pay anything. It is not a legitimate travel company. Was I happy as their customer?

No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no.

Even this review is a rip off of my time coz I'm support to enter at least 100 words before it will publish. Don't waste your valuable time on bookvip.com

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - WARNING! WARNING! WARNING!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Our special promotional packages are sponsored by the resorts and the rooms are discounted up to 77% from the retail rate because the resort is subsidizing the room in exchange for your time during the resort preview.

In the case of your reservation, there was a mistake made by the Vacation Club sponsoring the promotional package and you were accidentally booked at their sister resort the Secrets Capri which is also 5 Star All Inclusive Resort. However, once upper management was notified of the error the reservation issue was resolved and you were correctly booked at the Secrets Silversands.

Had this matter not been resolved to your satisfaction, you would have received a FULL refund. However, you were very satisfied of the outcome and understood it was definitely unintentional. BookVIP has already sent over 500,000 customers to Mexico this year. As the fastest growing travel company sometimes we do make mistakes, however, we learn and continue to strive for customer service excellence.

BookVIP is the leading provider of promotional packages, and has more video testimonials from happy customers than any other travel website in the world! http://www.bookvip.com/sitereviews
Review
#1036788 Review #1036788 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Pros
  • What i was promised
Reason of review
Bait and switch!
Loss
$1400
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

I became aware of book VIP from seeing them on Facebook. I studied all of the resorts and chose the one that I would love to experience with my wife.

Called them up and made sure there was no scam or problems! The gentleman on the phone told me that the place I wanted was indeed available. I booked it and paid for it. He told me I would be getting a confirmation call from the hotel in two or three days.

I did indeed receive the phone call from a hotel letting me know that the hotel that I had booked was booked up and that I was now talking to a different resort and that everything was indeed OK. I got off the phone and looked up that resort. It was not half of the value or as nice as the one I had originally booked. After that I have gone through three days of trying to straighten this out.

I have purchased airline tickets and my wife is excited to go to the original resort or somewhere comparable but they are not offering anything near as comparable. Then I started looking at reviews and noticing everybody is having the same problem! This company is doing the old bait and switch. I don't know how they can do it to people!

Me and my wife where so excited! Now I've been doing nothing but for three days trying to find A supervisor in the company that will even return my calls! And what they're offering me is no less of price than what I can get on any traveling site. There is a lot more to this and I am pretty savvy!

I have even called back this morning and they are still offering me as just nobody the same place, they told me a week ago it is unavailable! DREAM'S GONE SOUR!

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - If it looks too GOOD to be true, it usually is!

Dear Lorna,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. BookVIP will send over 500,000 customers on our promotional packages worldwide this year. We are the leading provider of promotional packages in the world.

Our special promotional packages are sponsored by the resorts and the rooms are discounted up to 77% from the retail rate because the resort is subsidizing the room in exchange for your time during the resort preview.

In the case of your reservation, the allotment of special promotional packages at the Berkley Las Vegas was exceeded so we upgraded you to their sister resort the Grandview which is actually ranked much higher on Trip Advisor #147 vs #49 for no additional cost. Had you not agreed to the upgraded resort change, you would have received a FULL refund.

I am very proud in the fact BookVIP is the leading provider of promotional packages, and has more video testimonials from happy customers than any other travel website in the world! http://www.bookvip.com/sitereviews
Review
#1031667 Review #1031667 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Cons
  • Dishonesty
Reason of review
Problems with payment

If it looks too GOOD to be true, it usually is! If it looks too GOOD to be true, it usually is!

Go with your gut instinct. Consumer BEWARE! DO NOT PURCHASE ONE OF THESE VACATION DEALS! If you do you, Purchase at your own risk!

There is a slight 7.8% chance you’ll be one of the lucky consumers who actually gets a good vacation deal with minimal inconveniences. To the other 92.2% take decisive action to help ensure other consumers are not “snared into” this well-organized and sophisticated unethical business operation. Consumer Narrative So, it happens that you come across advertisement for a GREAT vacation deal (4 Days and 3 nights) to some beautiful Resort USA or International, right? Step #1- “Their Business Operation- “They are good…… they are really Good!” You specifically request certain dates, then check to see if those dates are available; and (oh yeah), they just happen to be available.

Note, their reservation system will not allow you to book dates which aren’t available. You set your expected dates, and here comes: SNARE #1 (What happens next-their reoccurring theme with most consumers!) Consumer Beware! You get an URGENT email where Book VIP tells you to call back into their Reservation Center. On the other end of the line is their well-trained BookVIP representative who reads their script to you; the just of the script is; the resort you booked is ALL filled up, and they must place you at another resort.

You tell them that that’s not possible, because the reservation system on-line will not let me book dates which aren’t available. Does this sound familiar to your experience too? Do Not Take: Snare #2- To re-book your reservation to another location, you didn’t want in the first place. Do Not Take: Snare #3- Actual attempt to go to the vacation destination you never wanted to book, but felt you had no other alternative left, with their NO REFUND policy.

The Definition of a Scam is: 1. A Fraudulent or Deceptive Act or Operation 2. Deceive, Defraud 3. To obtain (as money) by a scam If you find yourself a victim of this sophisticated business operation.

Here are a couple things you can do. You can try to prevent this from happening to other unsuspecting consumers. I mean, “you knew” this sounded a little too good to be true (right), yeah OK, BUT Nobody expected to premeditatedly be ripped off by a scam business operation! What we can do!

#1 www.bookvipreviews.com Go to this website and file your complaint. Here are some statistics for this www.bookvipreviews.com website. There were as of November 2014, 10,983 views. I’m sure that number has increased since April 2017.

Best case scenario is 1,000’s of consumers might get a “heads up” before dealing with this company. There is only “1 good thing” going for the website(www.bookvipreviews.com), and that is a lot of consumers read the reviews placed at the website. So, let’s get the word out about this unethical company. Here are MORE statistics for www.bookvipreviews.com: Issues Resolved: 5 Company Responses: 176 Consumer Complaints: 254 Customer Testimonials: 77 In Reference to: Company Responses (176): Most of the company responses are solely from some “real live animated character”, james@bookvip.com, that states he is the Owner.

He makes “No Apologies” for the company’s many different methods of unethical operations. He thinks he is somehow doing the unsuspecting consumers a favor when he reads and responds to the many horror stories as consumers write in and voice their complaints. His attitude resonates with yeah, so you got ripped off (prove it), what are you complaining about. You got your vacation!

There were (77) customer testimonials, out of (254) Consumer Complaints-(Consumer Complaints that we KNOW of any way!). The issues resolved with this company were (5). The main thing to note here I, “a lot of consumers read the complaints”! It will help to get the word out about the company’s unethical practices.

#2 Leave a complaint here too as well: ABC News: Brian Ross: Scams, Schemes and Gimmicks Investigative Team Do You Have a Lead for the Brian Ross Investigative Unit? http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/mailform?id=13942252 If enough people voice their concern over the bad ethics of this business operation (www.book.vip) more consumers will BEWARE of this company and avoid the horrible snare, “That leaves a bad taste in your mouth for months”, after transacting any type of business with this company.

Testimonial

Bookvip is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

We have had a great time at the Omni Cancun...we cant stay enough good things about Omni & BookVIP!

We booked this package through BookVIP and were a little skeptical at first at the savings but glad we did! We loved the cleanliness in room and throughout resort, friendly staff, especially at the Pina Grill with our great waiters, Jose and Antonio, thank you for treating us like friends, that remembered our favorite table and entrees' & drinks! All restaurants were excellent in quality and presentation! Our lounge server Ismael kept up with our group of 8 - great job! So, we are super happy with our vacation!
View full review
Review
#1032744 Review #1032744 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Reason of review
Good quality
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Dear Debbie,

We appreciate all feedback.

All of our special promotional packages are based on availability. The demand for your first resort choice was overwhelming and exceeded the allotment for the dates you selected.

You were notified of the allotment issue as soon as we were notified of same by the resort and you agreed to change your resort.

You agreed to change your resort to the Silverton and BookVIP gave you a $50 refund for the inconvenience (not a price difference).

It disappointing that your expectations were not met upon arrival at the resort and order to compensate you for following short, you received a free 4 day / 3 night US vacation,

We have an A+ rating with Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews

James Colligan
Owner
james@BookVIP.com
Review
#1026724 Review #1026724 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Reason of review
Poor customer service

CAUTION!!! We booked this beautiful hotel more than a month ahead of our vacation.

After booking I received an email to call ASAP. I was told the Tahiti village was booked. They then rebooked us for the Berkeley for 30 dollars less. 2 weeks later I was contacted again and we were then rebooked for the Silverton.

I was told it did not have a kitchenette like the Tahiti but it was still a suite. We arrived last Friday for our trip and we were given a standard 2 queen room. It was awful When we called, I was on hold forever and I was hung up on twice. They guy continued to put me on hold like 5 times until he finally realized what happened I was then promised another 3 day 4 night vacation and I was told a manager would call me first thing in the morning to fix our situation.

If they switch up your reservations be prepared to be given the cheapest basic room possible.

Their customer service is awful and they will not apologize. Our family mini vacation was almost ruined had we not just gotten another hotel room.

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip in Bettendorf, Iowa - Totally Mislead by the booking agent

Dear Chris,

We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

As disclosed during your reservation call and as stated in writing in the Terms and Conditions you agreed to, your resort preview would be between 90-120 minutes. The vacation packages offered by BookVIP are amazingly affordable because the participating resort partner is paying the 70% discount in exchange for your time during the 90-120 minute preview.

In addition, we apologize over the inconvenience of the transportation as is the resort – not BookVIP – who arranges the transportation from the airport. That being said, we will be refunding you cost of the transportation.

We send over 500,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.

James Colligan
Owner
BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Review
#1025052 Review #1025052 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Cons
  • Service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1750

We booked a vacation to Cancun with Book VIP and were told that we would be picked up at the Airport in Cancun by Super Shuttle and No One had our name at Super shuttle. We were left to find our own transportation to the Hotel.

They tell you that the presentation at your hotel will only be 60-90 minutes, but the take you 45 minutes away to another hotel and it ends up being 4 hours. Do not take this deal.

They will not pick you up at the airport and take you to another hotel where you can not leave until they let you leave. It is not worth your time

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Hello Laura,

We are happy that prior to this review being posted, you had been contacted by a supervisor and all issues were resolved. Indeed, you and your family are now enjoying that much-deserved vacation.

Regarding your concerns, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience and stress resulting from the manner of communication provided by our Customer Service agent. The resort accidentally had informed us the dates were not available for the promotional package however once you brought this to our attention we were able to quickly rectify the issue.

That being said, when we reached out to you and explained the situation, you understood our position, and graciously accepted our apology as well our amends for the inconvenience.

We have an A+ rating with Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews

James Colligan
Owner
BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Review
#1024319 Review #1024319 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I was initially skeptical about booking with this company. After making several calls and speaking with several agents I finally spoke with an agent that I had good communication was friendly and was able to thoroughly answer all of my questions.

I went ahead and booked a resort in Orlando as we were planning a trip to take my daughter to Disney World for the first time. We only have certain dates that we could go and I reserved the resort for specific dates. March 26-29th. I paid in full and was told that if I needed to change the dates or cancel I could do so as long as this was not within seven days of the trip.

If it was within seven days I would be charged a fee to do so. Six days before we are scheduleded to leave after we had purchased our Disney World tickets,my husband had taken off time from work (which he has to put in for well in advance) as well as myself, I received a message from them stating that there was an error and our resort was actually not available for those dates any longer we would simply have to change our dates to accommodate them. This was not possible and I would've never scheduled this resort or this vacation with them if I had known that we could not have the dates that I reserved and paid for. After calling and speaking with customer service I asked them to look through any other resorts they might have in the area; I was even willing to upgrade to a larger room or pay more as long as I could find something in Orlando that was one of their properties.

Nothing was available I was told. The agent repeatedly told me that I would need to reschedule for different dates. I told him this was not a possibility and I had no idea when we would be able to take another trip. We had already purchased our park tickets and made all arrangements for this trip on the dates I reserved.

After I stated several times that I was very unhappy and I felt that as this was their error we should be accommodated for these dates or refunded. Also it seems very unethical that they wouldn't hold up their end of the agreement and if I had cancelled within 5 days I would be charged a fee.. he reluctantly offered to cancel the reservations and put me through to another department but offered no real insight and answered no questions as far as the certainty or process of being fully refunded. I was put on hold only to end up having him come back to tell me he was canceling our reservation and I would be refunded in 3-5 business days.

He stated he had already sent a confirmation email to me. As of right now I have not received a confirmation email. Initially I was told that he did not know the details of the process and I would have to speak with another dept that Would call me within 24 hrs For him only to come back on the line and tell me that he was canceling and had sent me a confirmation email and I will be refunded in 3 to 5 days. I am extremely confused And cannot understand how a company can be so lackluster on customer service and the variation in the policies and things of that nature.

I have a strong feeling that I won't be seeing a refund in my account within 3 to 5 days. (Jared) The customer service rep never seen very concerned about this and Was not exactly professional and did not provide me very many details as you would expect in a process like this . I should've followed my gut instinct on this company from the get go. They are unprofessional, unethical and basically left us in a bind and were unwilling to accommodate us at all for their error.

Very poor business ethics.

I will be updating in five business days and I hope that I can say that I was fully refunded but I'm not counting on it at this point. If this is the case I have no choice but to further action.

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Book Vip Cabo All Inclusive Review

Dear Dane,

We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

First and foremost, please note that as a result of our supervisor’s attempts to help you PRIOR to your posting, you have received a full refund.

We were a bit surprised to see your review since you had already spoken to a supervisor here at BookVIP.com regarding your request to cancel the vacation package. The supervisor had already reached out to the Resort on your behalf, and we were awaiting a response from the resort.

BookVIP could not have known that you were not in possession of a valid passport since you agreed to the Reservation Details via electronic signature when you made your reservation.

Our special promotional packages are sponsored by the resorts and the rooms are discounted up to 77% because the resort is subsidizing the room in exchange for your time during the resort preview.

All qualifications, resort fees, taxes, deposits and penalties are clearly stated on the Reservation Details/Terms and Conditions governing each vacation package which are reviewed with the customer during the sales call and then must be accepted by the customer via electronic signature in order to finalize the booking and have the dates sent to the Resort. The Terms and Conditions are also located at the bottom of each resort offering page on BookVIP.com’s website.

We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.

James Colligan
Owner
Resort Vacations International/BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Review
#1015409 Review #1015409 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

My boyfriend booked a trip on 2/28 we tried cancelation in less then 24 hrs and book vip is refusing to refund we cant get pasports in less then a week and didnt know we needed them .we booked another trip not requiring passports .we never recieved hotel conformation either.please get back to me asap we have already recieved our refund from american airlines .thanks bettina

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Complete Scam! The said my room was not availbale after I had already purchsed air line tickets

Dear Donita,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback.

We are sorry that your travel dates could not be accommodated by the Orlando resort you choose and that you were not interested in visiting any other resort in the area that had availability on your travel dates.

That being said, please note that your trip was cancelled and your credit card was never charged. BookVIP cannot be held responsible because you purchased your plane tickets prior to receiving final confirmation of your reservation from the resort.

Our special promotional packages are sponsored by the resorts and the rooms are discounted up to 77% from the retail rate because the resort is subsidizing the room in exchange for your time during the resort preview.

Every once in awhile, the participating resort provider discovers that the rooms have been over-booked and the reservations are honored on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Of course, this puts BookVIP, as the booking company, in the uncomfortable position of being the bearer of bad news to our customers.

BookVIP has thousands of happy travelers every week, and has more video testimonials from happy customers than any other travel website in the world!

James Colligan
Owner
BookVip.com
james@bookvip.com
Review
#1012194 Review #1012194 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Cons
  • Phone communication was poor due to english barrier
  • Deceptiveness of the company and customer service agents
  • Bait and switch
Reason of review
They cancelled my reservation
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Honor my reservation!

After spending an hour on the phone booking a resort in Orlando with Book VIP I purchased airline tickets from South West Airlines. The following day I received an email from Book VIP telling me to call them concerning an urgent matter with my resort reservation.

I called them and they informed me that the dates I reserved are no longer available. I proceeded to ask how they could book me a room that was not available. The only response I got was that the line was breaking up (even thought I could hear them very well) and the person could not hear me so I should call back at another time. I am beyond pissed!

Since I already have airline tickets I have no other choice than to scram to find a room that will cost me much more than my budget can afford. It's horrible that they would treat people this way.

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Dear Marlena,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience and stress resulting from the manner of communication provided by our Customer Service agents.

It is disappointing that you were not eligible for the promotion offered by your preferred resort. Rest assured, there is no bait and switch involved.

It is the participating resort provider who sets forth the eligibility requirements for the promotional packages since they are paying the 70% discount on behalf of qualified guests.

That being said, the first reservation you booked and held with the $99 deposit, was booked as a “Cohabitating” couple and your guest was noted as your fiancée. There was no problem since cohabitating couples (with proof of same) are eligible for the promotion you put a deposit on.

When you called to book your dates, however, you indicated that your status was “Single,” and, unfortunately, that particular promotion is not offered to single women.

BookVIP is a booking company and it is our job to ensure that guests are qualified for the limited number of promotional packages being offered by the resort providers.

The eligibility requirements for each promotional package can be viewed on BookVIP’s website at the bottom of each resort offering page by clicking on the Terms and Conditions.

We are happy that you will still be able enjoy an all-inclusive, 6-day/5-night vacation in a beautiful Five-Star resort in Cancun.
We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.

James Colligan
Owner
BookVip.com
James@bookvip.com
Review
#1009807 Review #1009807 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
Reason of review
Order processing issue

I just booked with bookvip.com. I placed 99 dollars down as I was unsure of my days.

I called back two weeks later when my vacation had been approved by my job. Imagine my surprise when I was told that I couldn't go to the resort I'd payed for because I wasn't a married couple and I didn't live with my boyfriend! ( I'm 51 and my boyfriend is 50) they offered to book my in a resort that didn't have that requirement. After booking I had the opportunity to check the reviews on the new resort only to find out it's of poor quality and the biggest party hotel in Cancun, oh and our dates are in soring break.

I called back and asked for a supervisor and was told there was none available. The old bait and switch! I was very upset. Told them so.

The guy on the phone had the nerve to tell me had I just paid up front they would have told me about needing to live together and it's just unfortunate I didn't have the money to pay when I originally booked!!! ( which had 0 to do with it!!!). I'm so mad I can't see straight!!!

Do not give theses *** hats your money!! You won't get what you ask for and no one will help you!!!