Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Totally Mislead by the booking agent

Dear Chris,

We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

As disclosed during your reservation call and as stated in writing in the Terms and Conditions you agreed to, your resort preview would be between 90-120 minutes. The vacation packages offered by BookVIP are amazingly affordable because the participating resort partner is paying the 70% discount in exchange for your time during the 90-120 minute preview.

In addition, we apologize over the inconvenience of the transportation as is the resort – not BookVIP – who arranges the transportation from the airport. That being said, we will be refunding you cost of the transportation.

We send over 500,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.

James Colligan
Owner
BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Anonymous
Location
Bettendorf, Iowa
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
1.8

We booked a vacation to Cancun with Book VIP and were told that we would be picked up at the Airport in Cancun by Super Shuttle and No One had our name at Super shuttle. We were left to find our own transportation to the Hotel.

They tell you that the presentation at your hotel will only be 60-90 minutes, but the take you 45 minutes away to another hotel and it ends up being 4 hours. Do not take this deal.

They will not pick you up at the airport and take you to another hotel where you can not leave until they let you leave. It is not worth your time

I didn’t like
Service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1750
Review #1025052 is a subjective opinion of PissedConsumer1025052.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Hello Laura,

We are happy that prior to this review being posted, you had been contacted by a supervisor and all issues were resolved. Indeed, you and your family are now enjoying that much-deserved vacation.

Regarding your concerns, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience and stress resulting from the manner of communication provided by our Customer Service agent. The resort accidentally had informed us the dates were not available for the promotional package however once you brought this to our attention we were able to quickly rectify the issue.

That being said, when we reached out to you and explained the situation, you understood our position, and graciously accepted our apology as well our amends for the inconvenience.

We have an A+ rating with Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews

James Colligan
Owner
BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Anonymous
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
1.6

I was initially skeptical about booking with this company. After making several calls and speaking with several agents I finally spoke with an agent that I had good communication was friendly and was able to thoroughly answer all of my questions.

I went ahead and booked a resort in Orlando as we were planning a trip to take my daughter to Disney World for the first time. We only have certain dates that we could go and I reserved the resort for specific dates. March 26-29th. I paid in full and was told that if I needed to change the dates or cancel I could do so as long as this was not within seven days of the trip.

If it was within seven days I would be charged a fee to do so. Six days before we are scheduleded to leave after we had purchased our Disney World tickets,my husband had taken off time from work (which he has to put in for well in advance) as well as myself, I received a message from them stating that there was an error and our resort was actually not available for those dates any longer we would simply have to change our dates to accommodate them. This was not possible and I would've never scheduled this resort or this vacation with them if I had known that we could not have the dates that I reserved and paid for. After calling and speaking with customer service I asked them to look through any other resorts they might have in the area; I was even willing to upgrade to a larger room or pay more as long as I could find something in Orlando that was one of their properties.

Nothing was available I was told. The agent repeatedly told me that I would need to reschedule for different dates. I told him this was not a possibility and I had no idea when we would be able to take another trip. We had already purchased our park tickets and made all arrangements for this trip on the dates I reserved.

After I stated several times that I was very unhappy and I felt that as this was their error we should be accommodated for these dates or refunded. Also it seems very unethical that they wouldn't hold up their end of the agreement and if I had cancelled within 5 days I would be charged a fee.. he reluctantly offered to cancel the reservations and put me through to another department but offered no real insight and answered no questions as far as the certainty or process of being fully refunded. I was put on hold only to end up having him come back to tell me he was canceling our reservation and I would be refunded in 3-5 business days.

He stated he had already sent a confirmation email to me. As of right now I have not received a confirmation email. Initially I was told that he did not know the details of the process and I would have to speak with another dept that Would call me within 24 hrs For him only to come back on the line and tell me that he was canceling and had sent me a confirmation email and I will be refunded in 3 to 5 days. I am extremely confused And cannot understand how a company can be so lackluster on customer service and the variation in the policies and things of that nature.

I have a strong feeling that I won't be seeing a refund in my account within 3 to 5 days. (Jared) The customer service rep never seen very concerned about this and Was not exactly professional and did not provide me very many details as you would expect in a process like this . I should've followed my gut instinct on this company from the get go. They are unprofessional, unethical and basically left us in a bind and were unwilling to accommodate us at all for their error.

Very poor business ethics.

I will be updating in five business days and I hope that I can say that I was fully refunded but I'm not counting on it at this point. If this is the case I have no choice but to further action.

Reason of review
Poor customer service
Review #1024319 is a subjective opinion of PissedConsumer1024319.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Book Vip Cabo All Inclusive Review

Dear Dane,

We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

First and foremost, please note that as a result of our supervisor’s attempts to help you PRIOR to your posting, you have received a full refund.

We were a bit surprised to see your review since you had already spoken to a supervisor here at BookVIP.com regarding your request to cancel the vacation package. The supervisor had already reached out to the Resort on your behalf, and we were awaiting a response from the resort.

BookVIP could not have known that you were not in possession of a valid passport since you agreed to the Reservation Details via electronic signature when you made your reservation.

Our special promotional packages are sponsored by the resorts and the rooms are discounted up to 77% because the resort is subsidizing the room in exchange for your time during the resort preview.

All qualifications, resort fees, taxes, deposits and penalties are clearly stated on the Reservation Details/Terms and Conditions governing each vacation package which are reviewed with the customer during the sales call and then must be accepted by the customer via electronic signature in order to finalize the booking and have the dates sent to the Resort. The Terms and Conditions are also located at the bottom of each resort offering page on BookVIP.com’s website.

We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.

James Colligan
Owner
Resort Vacations International/BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Daneppetersen456
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
2.5

My boyfriend booked a trip on 2/28 we tried cancelation in less then 24 hrs and book vip is refusing to refund we cant get pasports in less then a week and didnt know we needed them .we booked another trip not requiring passports .we never recieved hotel conformation either.please get back to me asap we have already recieved our refund from american airlines .thanks bettina

Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Review #1015409 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Complete Scam! The said my room was not availbale after I had already purchsed air line tickets

Dear Donita,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback.

We are sorry that your travel dates could not be accommodated by the Orlando resort you choose and that you were not interested in visiting any other resort in the area that had availability on your travel dates.

That being said, please note that your trip was cancelled and your credit card was never charged. BookVIP cannot be held responsible because you purchased your plane tickets prior to receiving final confirmation of your reservation from the resort.

Our special promotional packages are sponsored by the resorts and the rooms are discounted up to 77% from the retail rate because the resort is subsidizing the room in exchange for your time during the resort preview.

Every once in awhile, the participating resort provider discovers that the rooms have been over-booked and the reservations are honored on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Of course, this puts BookVIP, as the booking company, in the uncomfortable position of being the bearer of bad news to our customers.

BookVIP has thousands of happy travelers every week, and has more video testimonials from happy customers than any other travel website in the world!

James Colligan
Owner
BookVip.com
james@bookvip.com
donitacarter83
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
1.0

After spending an hour on the phone booking a resort in Orlando with Book VIP I purchased airline tickets from South West Airlines. The following day I received an email from Book VIP telling me to call them concerning an urgent matter with my resort reservation.

I called them and they informed me that the dates I reserved are no longer available. I proceeded to ask how they could book me a room that was not available. The only response I got was that the line was breaking up (even thought I could hear them very well) and the person could not hear me so I should call back at another time. I am beyond pissed!

Since I already have airline tickets I have no other choice than to scram to find a room that will cost me much more than my budget can afford. It's horrible that they would treat people this way.

I didn’t like
Deceptiveness of the company and customer service agents, Phone communication was poor due to english barrier, I do not like book vip and will never use it again, Bait and switch
Reason of review
They cancelled my reservation
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Honor my reservation!
Review #1012194 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Dear Marlena,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience and stress resulting from the manner of communication provided by our Customer Service agents.

It is disappointing that you were not eligible for the promotion offered by your preferred resort. Rest assured, there is no bait and switch involved.

It is the participating resort provider who sets forth the eligibility requirements for the promotional packages since they are paying the 70% discount on behalf of qualified guests.

That being said, the first reservation you booked and held with the $99 deposit, was booked as a “Cohabitating” couple and your guest was noted as your fiancée. There was no problem since cohabitating couples (with proof of same) are eligible for the promotion you put a deposit on.

When you called to book your dates, however, you indicated that your status was “Single,” and, unfortunately, that particular promotion is not offered to single women.

BookVIP is a booking company and it is our job to ensure that guests are qualified for the limited number of promotional packages being offered by the resort providers.

The eligibility requirements for each promotional package can be viewed on BookVIP’s website at the bottom of each resort offering page by clicking on the Terms and Conditions.

We are happy that you will still be able enjoy an all-inclusive, 6-day/5-night vacation in a beautiful Five-Star resort in Cancun.
We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.

James Colligan
Owner
BookVip.com
James@bookvip.com
Anonymous
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
2.1

I just booked with bookvip.com. I placed 99 dollars down as I was unsure of my days.

I called back two weeks later when my vacation had been approved by my job. Imagine my surprise when I was told that I couldn't go to the resort I'd payed for because I wasn't a married couple and I didn't live with my boyfriend! ( I'm 51 and my boyfriend is 50) they offered to book my in a resort that didn't have that requirement. After booking I had the opportunity to check the reviews on the new resort only to find out it's of poor quality and the biggest party hotel in Cancun, oh and our dates are in soring break.

I called back and asked for a supervisor and was told there was none available. The old bait and switch! I was very upset. Told them so.

The guy on the phone had the nerve to tell me had I just paid up front they would have told me about needing to live together and it's just unfortunate I didn't have the money to pay when I originally booked!!! ( which had 0 to do with it!!!). I'm so mad I can't see straight!!!

Do not give theses *** hats your money!! You won't get what you ask for and no one will help you!!!

Reason of review
Order processing issue
Review #1009807 is a subjective opinion of PissedConsumer1009807.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Dear Shanjonae,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Above all else, providing excellent customer service is our main goal and all of our customer service agents are highly-trained and qualified. We apologize for any stress caused by the manner of communication of the supervisor you spoke with.

That being said, please be reminded that all of our special promotional packages are subsidized up to 77% by the participating resorts, and it is the resort (not BookVIP) who sets forth the eligibility requirements for these promotional packages.

The Terms and Conditions are reviewed with the customer during every sales call and the customer must accept and agree on a recorded call and via electronic signature that they are eligible for the promotion.

BookVIP could not have known that (1) your income is below the minimum income accepted under the promotion; (2) you are not married; nor (3) that you do not have the required proof of cohabitation.

As you were advised by the supervisor with whom you spoke, your purchase is final and non-refundable since you declined to purchase Trip Guard (as offered by the sales rep and is clearly stated on the Terms and Conditions). You have 12-months to use your store credit towards any BookVIP.com vacation package for which you are eligible.

We send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews.
Unluckycustomer17
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
3.9

I am in total shock after booking my vacation I ran into a minor issue amd attempted to cancel my reservation due to proof needed to go to my destination. I called amd cancelled with no problem and when the representative contracted me 3 times to confirm there was no issue.

However when the "supervisor" called to confirm she was very rude amd told me not to waste my time for a refund when i was told I could cancel and hung up on me in mid conversation.

I called multiple times to see about other options and still have no refund or solution. This ruined my surprise birthday gift for a very deserving person.

Reason of review
Problems with payment
Review #998099 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Dear Heidi,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback.

Our special promotional packages are sponsored by the resorts and the rooms are discounted up to 77% from the retail rate because the resort is subsidizing the room in exchange for your time during the resort preview.

Every once in awhile, the participating resort provider discovers that the rooms have been over-booked and the reservations are honored on a first-come, first-serve basis. Of course, this puts BookVIP, as the booking company, in the uncomfortable position of being the bearer of bad news to our customers.

We apologize for any inconvenience and stress resulting from the manner of communication provided by our Customer Service agents. All of our calls are recorded so I appreciate your comments as we were able use the calls as valuable learning tools. As the fastest growing travel company in the world, we sometimes fall short of our goal, however, we are constantly looking to improve.

We are happy that as a result of your bringing the situation to our attention, you were contacted by a supervisor of BookVIP and the matter was resolved. You received a full refund since your dates could not be honored by either resort. In addition, you will be able to enjoy a free 4-day/5-night vacation in any of our U.S. destinations.

Above all else, providing excellent customer service is our main goal and all of our customer service agents are highly-trained and qualified.

BookVIP has thousands of happy travelers every week, and has more video testimonials from happy customers than any other travel website in the world!
Heidi2017
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
1.0

Bad experience! Bait and switch.

I booked a trip and paid $718 for 5 nights. I was assured no additional fees and i consented to the 90 minute presentation. Bookvip cancelled the first resort due to unavailability then the second resort for the same reason. The 3rd resort had a resort fee which i was adamant i would not pay so they booked a forth resort and asked me for a $200 upgrade.

Three weeks and 20 calls later i had my flights but no place to stay. I asked for a full refund if they could not provide me with a comparable resort for my original payment of $718. They tried high pressure sales and finally threats if i filed a Bbb suite against them i would not win and they would not give me the vacation i paid for. I booked the original resort they promised me for full price $700 more than bookvip cost but it is worth the extra money.

I have filed a fraud case with my credit card company and with BBB. Waiting for resolution.

Reason of review
Problems with payment
Review #995269 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Review

Thank you for your review and feedback. As of the owner of the company, I am proud in the fact BookVIP is the largest provider of promotional packages in the world. You can save up to save 70% of the retail rate on the promotional packages because the resort's are subsidizing the cost of the vacation in exchange for meeting the eligibility requirements and attending the resort preview. All of the resort's requirements are listed at the bottom of each special hotel offer with the "Terms & Conditions" link.

BookVIP.com has more video reviews than any other travel web site http://bookvip.com/sitereviews
Anonymous
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
4.6

I went through book vip and they booked me with westgate lake resort abd spa and it was great I have no complaints

Reason of review
Good quality
Review #966883 is a subjective opinion of PissedConsumer966883.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Booking Review

Hello Brandy,

We appreciate all feedback and thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Because the resort partner is paying the 70% discount on for these promotions, they set forth certain eligibility requirements for these vacation packages.

All qualifications and restrictions, as well as any additional resort fees, taxes, and/or deposits which may be required by any particular resort are contained in the Terms and Conditions for each package. The Terms and Conditions are located at the bottom of every hotel/resort offering page on our website and must be agreed to and accepted via electronic signature by all guests before the reservation can be finalized and forwarded to the resort.

The day after you booked, you were notified that the resort advised BookVIP that you were ineligible for the promotion since you had previously toured. At first, you declined that you ever attended a presentation at any of the resort group’s properties. (It later turned out, however, that you indeed had previously attended 2 presentations, and even bought a VOA package)

This is a clear violation of the Reservation Details (Terms and Conditions) that you agreed to via electronic signature in order to finalize the reservation. It is clearly stated:

Additional Terms
For this first-time visitor promotion customer cannot be a travel agent, Westgate owner, employee or relative of an employee.
Participants that have attended any other resort preview in the past 12 months are not eligible for this promotion.
Cannot have toured a Westgate property more than twice.
A supervisor contacted you within 24-hours of your request to cancel your package and explained the issue as per the eligibility requirements set forth by the participating resort provider. After reviewing the two resorts with availability on your travel dates, you agreed to “open-date” your vacation package and use your store credit towards any BookVIP vacation package for which you are eligible over the next 12-months. In an attempt to appease you, BookVIP even gave you a $51 refund.

We will send over 300,000 families on dream vacations alone this year and have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site: http://bookvip.com/sitereviews


James Colligan
Owner
BookVip.com
James@bookvip.com
Brandi2254
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
1.0

I booked using this site for a weekend trip and they told me I was good to go. Then a day later I got an email saying that I needed to call because it was urgent so I called.

The guy then told me I didn't qualify because I could not have toured the hotel site twice in the last 12 month. I told him I didn't tour in the last 12 months then I said fine just give my money back . He then said I will refund your money but the manager in the cancellation dept would have to. They promised a manager would call me for days and they never did .

I had to keep calling and going back and forth over a refund. Then I got into a hollering match with one of the managers and she told me I should've read the fine print that said I could not tour twice in the 12 months. She said because I toured I couldn't get a refund . She said I needed to call WestGate myself.

So I called and WestGate said I toured in 2008 and bought a package for 2009 so that counted as a tour. They said you can't tour twice in a lifetime . Booking VIP said 12 months so I called back and told them this and they still said I couldn't get my money back. They then tried to offer me to stay in two dumps that were 80.00 for 3 days meanwhile I paid 225.00 for my package.

The company is a rip off and canceled my reservations and then made me pay for it. A refund would be the right bing to do being that this was not my fault and per their site you can't tour twice in a year . So I did not violate any agreement.

Way to go stealing my money BookVip just in time for the holidays!!!!! DO NOT BOOKUSING THIS COMPANY!!!!!

Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Review #957307 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vague Fine Print

Dear Krista,

We appreciate your feedback.

Unfortunately, your reservation cannot be honored by the resort as a result of a Group Travel issue, which is a clear violation of the Terms and Conditions governing the vacation package set forth by the resort.

Because the resort partner is paying the 70% discount on for these promotions, they set forth certain eligibility requirements for these vacation packages. The Terms and Conditions governing every promotional package are located at the bottom of each resort offering page on the website.

In addition, the Terms and Conditions (Reservation Details) are reviewed with the customer during every sales call, and must be agreed to in writing by every customer in order to finalize the reservation and have dates sent to the participating resort provider.

In an effort to ensure you and your friends still get to enjoy that much-deserved vacation, you were offered a number of remedies to the situation, including but not limited to, paying a special rate offered by the resort in situations like this, or you could add an extra room to your package for an additional per night rate.

You chose to cancel your travel dates and retain a store credit which can be used towards any BookVIP vacation package for which you are qualified.

We have an A rating with the Better Business Bureau and send over 100,000 people on vacation per year and have more customer video reviews than any other travel site.

James Colligan
Owner
Resort Vacations International/BookVIP.com
James@bookvip.com
Anonymous
Service
Bookvip Vacation Package Booking
1.0

Not booking with friends, family, acquaintances. Which I did not.

I booked with my significant other. However, since another couple (who booked separate, with different flights, etc.) booked at the same time (who I am friends with), Book VIP called and said it would cost an additional $1200. I said, no thanks. So now I have a "credit" to use for the same resort.

Fuming. I do not recommend them. When I called back, after calming down, I asked if I could still book, and what would it cost. The answer was $1800 - $1900.

She couldn't give me an exact number. Unreal.

Reason of review
Not as described
Loss
$620
Preferred solution
Full refund
Review #950906 is a subjective opinion of PissedConsumer950906.