Resolved
Bookvip's reply to:

Resolved: Bookvip - Book VIP is outright theft

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we take all customers issues very seriously. We are able to look up reservations by the last name of customer, their email address, or telephone number, however, we are unable to locate any reservation with the information given by you to this web site. You can contact me direct at James@BookVip.com. As an owner, I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service.

The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as resort is paying the cost of discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented. We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at Jame@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#591117 Review #591117 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$1100
Preferred solution
Full refund

Update by user Feb 11, 2015

We got in touch with James Colligan, who occasionally answers some of the complaints about bookvip.com online, and turns out he's a real person who really does own bookvip.com. After some back and forth he did get us a refund.

I still wouldn't recommend doing business with these people unless you are very very patient and very flexible about where you end up on your vacation. Getting our money back was more of a hassle then it should have been, and of course we'll never get back the hours of frustration we spend trying to sort this out.

Oh well, at least we'r not out the $1000. Lesson learned.

Original review posted by user Feb 05, 2015

We booked a one week stay in Cancun at Sandos Plyacar. They started out lying to us about when the card would be charged. They said it wouldn't be charged for 7 days and charged it immediately. One week prior to our departure we had heard nothing from Book VIP. Not confirmation letter, nothing. After multiple phone calls messages and email, none of which were ever answered by them, we finally got ahold of a live person and were told they could not get us reservations there. We asked for a refund and were flatly denied. They only give a 7 day refund period. The trick is they do nothing for you during that period so they don't tip you off as to how much your being scammed. Once they safely have you money, then the bad news starts to come in. Our only option, less than a week before our vacation was to change resorts to Villa Del Palmar. This just happens to be one of their 'featured' resorts. In other words, the one that pays them the most for lining up suckers like us. We didn't like the resort, it had nothing we were looking for and didn't want to go there, but we had to agree, they gave us no choice. We were later to learn that they knew they couldn't get us into Sandos Plyacar from the beginning, but waited till the last minute to tell us, I assume to put pressure on us to do what they wanted.They referred us to their web site for information on Villa Del Palmar. It states the 4 a la carte restaurants, room service, in room mini-bar and top shelf liquors are all included in the package. It still says this. We spent the entire week before our vacation on the phone, mostly on hold with these people. We left numerous messages and emails, none of which were ever returned. Finally, 2 days before we were leaving they sent us a confirmation letter. It stated that none of the restaurants, the room service, the in room bar and the top shelf liquor were included in our package. We were expected to eat at the buffet 3 meals a day for a week. After hours more on hold and screaming at them to talk to a supervisor- they really didn't want to let us! They sent us another confirmation letter that simply erased the line about the restaurants not being included. No other changes, looks like someone just used white out on it. We called the resort and were told that no, nothing had changed in our package, we would treated as second class citizens for our entire stay, but of course we'd also have to endure their timeshare presentation anyway. At this point we had been told so many lies by the people at BookVIP and endured so much truly terrible customer service that we had simply lost all faith in them. I don't know if they are totally incompetent, or just crooks, but it really doesn't matter. We dared not risk our vacation, who knows what other lies they had told us we wouldn't find out about until we got there and had no where to go?

When we cancelled our reservations the resort told us that no monies had been paid to them and there was no penalty for cancellation because we were within the 48 period. BookVIP still refused to give us our money back. They claimed we had a verbal contract to change resorts. However a verbal contract based on false and misleading information, which their web site is full of, is not binding.

I have since found out that their claims to be members of IATAN, ASTA and have an A+ rating with the BBB are all lies as well. These people are shameless!

2 comments
Violet
#957912

Dreadpiratk,

i do apologize we werent able fulfill your vacation request. Like any growing company we are not 100% perfect and always working to improve and an as owner I will do everything to resolve an issue like yours. We are always looking to improve our service and we do have an A+ Rating with the BBB.

http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356

I can always be contacted at James@rvitravel.net

Wyett
#944432

We got in touch with James Colligan, who occasionally answers some of the complaints about bookvip.com online, and turns out he's a real person who really does own bookvip.com. After some back and forth he did get us a refund.

I still wouldn't recommend doing business with these people unless you are very very patient and very flexible about where you end up on your vacation.

View more comments (1)
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip Sweepstakes Review from Grapevine, Texas

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we take all customers issues very seriously. We are able to look up reservations by the last name of customer, their email address, or telephone number, however, we are unable to locate any reservation with the information given by you to this web site. You can contact me direct at James@BookVip.com. As an owner, I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service.

The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as resort is paying the cost of discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented. We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at Jame@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#583897 Review #583897 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised

I was told I won a free vacation and then I was asked for a credit card to pay a resort fee.BookingVIP is a scam.

Another happy BookVip.com customer review of their Punta Cana vacation

A BookVip.com customer gives a review of their vacation experience at Melia Caribe Tropical and quality of service with BookVip.com
View full review
Testimonial

Bookvip is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#616151 Review #616151 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good customer service
Bookvip's reply to:

BookVIP is a scam

Thank you for your valuable feedback. As an owner, I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service. The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as resort is paying the cost of discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented. We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at Jame@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#583153 Review #583153 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problems with payment

I dealt with this company in Dec 2013. They sounded fishy, billed me for the same vacation twice, more than $600, but then did remove one of the charges.

The vacation did not smoothly.

This year I decided to try them again. Reserved a room at the hotel in Dec 2014. The reservation, as previously, was meant to include an airport pick up service in Punta Cana. Since it is dangerous to travel to the Dominican Republic, such a service is of essence to my family.

I have now tried a grand total of four times to arrange the airport pick up. I know that I have a reservation at the hotel, but something really strange is happening with the pick up situation. When I requested to talk to a manager, I spoke with an individual called Keith. At the end of the conversation, Keith gave me his "direct" phone number, 1-888-845-0050, which turned out to be a number of a TRUCKING COMPANY in New Jersey!

After four phone calls and promises that the resort is going to call me, there is still no action and I do not have my taxi pick up arranged. I've traveled all over the Caribbean and this is the first time anything like this has happened to me.

I am not sure what sort of scam this is, but take my advice, do not ever deal with BookVIP. I certainly won't.

2 comments
Violet
#957915

Like any growing company we are not 100% perfect and always working to improve and an as owner I will do everything to resolve an issue. Please contact me directly at James@rvitravel.net. I apologize on the confusion however our customer service can be reached 24/7 at 888 849 8450 or 8888450602 and pressing #2 for either the numbers are listed on the web site along with Travel Receipt.

Anonymous
#932747

Obviously you're mentally deficient, so can you please tell me where does the danger part of travelling to the Dominican Republic start. Does it start when you roll out of bed or when you step into the shower?

View more comments (1)
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - BUYER BEWARE

Thank you for your feedback. We are the largest provider of discounted promotional packages. We send over 300,000 packages per year and have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. The packages are 70% off the retail value because the resorts are sponsoring the special promotion and paying for the discounted room in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies that each reservation complies with the terms & conditions they set forth. Most issues occur when the resort discovers the terms & conditions are being circumvented.

Here is a link with real BookVip.com customer videos reviewing their vacation at the resorts http://bookvip.com/sitereviews. As an owner, I back our discounted vacation packages 100% as it provides many families a once in a lifetime vacation they otherwise might not be able to easily afford. As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, please contact me with any issue so I can have it resolved. I can be reached direct at James@BookVip.com or call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602.
ID
#576098 Review #576098 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
ALL OF THE ABOVE!!

Glad I decided to research them before I dealt with them. I got an online price for a 4 day 3 night vacation to Myrtle Beach but the site would only allow me to schedule 3 days instead of 4 for the dates I requested for $59.

I still thought it was a bang of a deal and so I went to enter my CC information and noticed that the whole website was not secure (no https) And nothing to show that it was secure other than a few typed words under where you enter your CC info telling you it IS secure. So I entered four of my CC numbers and saw that my numbers were not changing into a coded format. So I stopped and called them and was told by some woman who did not speak English well that the trip for the days I wanted would be $299. I told her that I am confirming the reservation with my CC info because I did not feel comfortable doing it online and the price I was given was $59 (it was some end of the year deal).

Because I insisted on the $59 price she hung up on me.

SO I called back and got another non English speaking male who told me the online information was incorrect...even though it had the days I requested. I made up an excuse to get off the phone and that is when I did the research on the company...and read all you lovely folks comments...LMBO...#GLADIDID

1 comment
Anonymous
#926729

Thank you for your feedback and our site is completely secure. Please contact me as I would like to know when you booked for Myrtle Beach as the rate is $59 in the off season, however in the Summer there is premium as the room nights are $300 plus a night.

We are the largest travel promotions company online and send over 50,000 customers per year and have an A rating with Better Business Bureau

http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356#bbbseal

Additionally you can view real BookVip.com customer videos on their actual vacations

http://bookvip.com/sitereviews

As an owner of the company we always looking to improve and you can contact me directly James@rvitravel.net. Thank you

Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - GHOST COMPANY

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we take all customers issues very seriously. We are able to look up reservations by the last name of customer, their email address, or telephone number, however, we are unable to locate any reservation with the information given by you to this web site. You can contact me direct at James@BookVip.com. As an owner, I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service.

The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as resort is paying the cost of discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented. We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at Jame@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#575854 Review #575854 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service and web site
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Full refund

Do you self a favor and book somewhere else. I booked a reservation for 12/30/14 thru 1/2/15 in Puerto Vallarta and I'm leaving tonight.

I changed my reservations 2 weeks ago and the guy who could not speak english, changed my reservation wrong and deleted my Itinerary number and now the can't find my reservation. This company is a GHOST. I received emails from travelnow.com, bookvip.com, info from Travelscape and all anyone can tell me is I need to talk to Expidia. When I called they said they didn't have a reservation in my name.

None of the above has any info about my trip. My credit card has been charged. On the site Bookvip.com it rings up my old reservation but thats it.

The hotel has a reservation that is not correct and told me I need to pay an additional 150 pesos per day per person.

6 comments
Anonymous
#926735

Thank you for your feedback. Please contact me as I would like to know when you why you charged 150 pesos approx $15 additional as some resorts have resort fees that are disclosed.

We are the largest travel promotions company online and send over 50,000 customers per year and have an A rating with Better Business Bureau

http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356#bbbseal

Additionally you can view real BookVip.com customer videos on their actual vacations

http://bookvip.com/sitereviews

As an owner of the company we always looking to improve and you can contact me directly James@rvitravel.net. Thank you

Anonymous
#934906
@PissedConsumer926735

So you own BookVip? I'm planning a 25th anniversary trip to Cabo.

I would very much like to book a vacation.

I am concerned I may ruin a very special occasion.

Please give me the bottom line.... Hidden fees, double charges etc.?

Anonymous
#936734
@PissedConsumer926735

James,

I read on the BBB that your company is getting all these deals....because....each of your so called winners, has to sit through 60-190 time share speech ( want it or not) now, why no one says anything about it? Also, if I'm a winner why I still have to pay?

Winners win, and if I have to pay $96.00 why not let me pay it upon arrival at the hotel?

And yes, your operators sucks, they don't even listen to you, talk over you and I could barely understand anything ( cheap labor...)

They say " only in America" you can get rich, except they forgot to mention... There are lots of educated consumers out there that work hard for their money!

Anonymous
#941442
@PissedConsumer926735

If you do own or work for BookVIP, can you tell me, are you a crook, or do you just hire incompetent people? The result is the same.

We paid over $1000 to your company for a week at Sandos Plyacar. We were well aware of the time share aspect and perfectly fine with it. And we met all of your requirements fully.

Your totally incompetent staff got us NOTHING!

less than a week before we left we had nothing, no confirmation number, NOTHING! Then, 3 days before we were leaving we were told that they couldn't get us reservations at Sandos Plyacar, they could 'upgrade' us to Villa Del Palmar. It turned out later they knew from the beginning they couldn't get us into Sandos Plyacar, they just waited till the very last minute to tell us so they could strong arm us into going where you wanted us to go. Pay a bit more do they, Villa Del Palmar?

We did not want to go to Villa Del Palmar, it had nothing we wanted. We were denied a refund and told it was Villa Del Palmar or nothing. So, with a gun to our heads we agreed. Then just 48 hours before we left we finally got a confirmation letter and guess what?

NOTHING WAS INCLUDED! No a la carte restaurants, no room service, no in room min bar no top shelf liquor. All of these things your web site clearly states are amenities of the resort. The web site your staff referred us to to swindle us into agreeing to go there!

We had to spend literally the entire week before our vacation on the phone with your company trying to get answers. We left 8 messages with you and were assured we'd get a call back and got NONE! I sent almost a dozen emails through your web site, and got no responses at all. I guess that would leave a paper trail though wouldn't it?

You seem to be pretty good at avoiding that.

We ultimately had to cancel and make other arrangements 1 day before we left. We had been told so many lies and been given such amazingly bad service we simply couldn't risk our vacation on your company. Who knows what else would turn out to be a lie once we got there?

Villa Del Palmar told us that nothing had been paid to them, and there was no penalty for canceling because it was within 48 hours, but your criminal organization refuses to give us our money back. I have consulted with an attorney in LA and have been told that a verbal contract based on false or misleading information is not binding. Your justification for keeping our money is false. We will prove that in court.

If you think this is over, that you can just lie to me and steal my money you are wrong. Complaints have been filed with the BBB (not the first I"m sure) the LA states attorney general, and I've retained a lawyer in LA to sue you for damages.

Enjoy the $1000, its chump change compared to what this is going to cost you.

Anonymous
#941459
@PissedConsumer926735

Pure BS autoreply. I doubt this James is even a real person.

We emailed him, but I don't expect a response.

The Louisianna State's Attorney General's office can be found here:

http://www.ag.state.la.us/

Take the time to fill out a complaint

http://www.bbb.org/north-east-louisiana/

BBB or West Monro LA. The actual business address of these crooks is: Resort Vacations International 120 Fox Run Dr Natchitoches, LA 71457-7881

Anonymous
#941857
@PissedConsumer926735

I don't care what your rating is or how many people you serviced. I paid for a room I could not cancel because your staff deleted my itinerary number.

Your out-sourcing is a joke. They can't speak english and ruined my trip. I was lucky after waiting an hour at the hotel to get the rooms as they were in the wrong names. They had the payment but no changes could be made except for calling expidia and expidia outsourcing said I don't have a reservation as did bookvip.com.

I will contact the better business bureau so they can correct their records.

Your company is flawed! I would NEVER use or recomend using your service.

View more comments (5)
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Deal Review from Atlanta, Georgia

As an owner, I take customer feedback very seriously. Please contact me directly at James@bookvip.com. We are the largest provider of discounted promotional packages. The reason the vacation packages are up to 70% off is the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort sets forth the terms of the conditions for the special promotional price. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as the resort is paying for the cost of the discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented.

We already sent over 100,000 families on dream vacations in 2015 and are on track for 300,000 as we expand into Europe and Southeast Asia. We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. Please go to http://bookvip.com/sitereviews to see BookVip customers review our service during their actual vacation. We are always looking to improve our service and have an A+ Rating with the Better Business Bureau.

http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356

Like any growing company, we are not 100% perfect and always working to improve and as an owner I will do everything to resolve any issue. Please contact me directly at James@bookvip.com or call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602.

Thank you
ID
#572139 Review #572139 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I booked with BookVip for the Westgate deal in Orlando they changed my room type...put me in a studio when I booked a 1 bedroom, after that they cancelled said that they over booked. They booked me in Daytona and canceled that deal as well!!!!!

Family sharing their Bookvip.com Orlando vacation experience

A BookVip.com customer gives a review of their vacation experience at the Westgate Palace Orlando and quality of service with BookVip.com
View full review
Testimonial

Bookvip is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#616149 Review #616149 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good customer service
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Advertisement cons

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we take all customers issues very seriously. We are able to look up reservations by the last name of customer, their email address, or telephone number, however, we are unable to locate any reservation with the information given by you to this web site. You can contact me direct at James@BookVip.com. As an owner, I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service.

The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as resort is paying the cost of discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented. We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at Jame@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#567289 Review #567289 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service and website
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Saw promotional video about Cancun .when I went to book it it is now where to be on the book VIP website so I called and got nowhere.they had no idea and could not tell me where to look.just as I figu red.they scam u into higher prices and by the way I called twice and got a no English speaking person who had a hard time.I just wanted to book my promotional package for Cancun but it really didn't exist.there was no to ask for help and the ads on the website tell u to book online but where? I checked the hotel in question and no deal like the promotional video was listed

2 comments
Anonymous
#926746

Thank you for your feedback and all deals are booked at BookVip.com. We are the largest travel promotions company and send over 50,000 families on vacations each year.

The packages are 60-70% off the discounted price as the resort is subsidizing the cost of the rooms in exchange for 90 minutes of your time.

We have an A Rating with the BBB

http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356#bbbseal

Additionally you can view real BookVip.com customer videos on their actual vacations

http://bookvip.com/sitereviews

As an owner of the company we always looking to improve and you can contact me directly James@rvitravel.net. Thank you

Anonymous
#930779
@PissedConsumer926746

DO NOT BOOK WITH BOOKVIP.COM !! - It is a scam.

The reservation must be completed over the phone where they tell you the prices are subject to your acceptance of a high pressure sales pitch for which you must present a credit card and are required to have a minimum income of $60,000. When I asked the representative how would they verify the income, she responded " THE HOTEL HAS ITS WAYS TO FIND OUT" - At that point we backed out completely. The representative became rude and hung up the phone on me. How do they verify income, really?

Do they obtain your private information and or credit report without your knowledge???

I HAVE BEEN TO THESE SALES PRESENTATIONS. THEY ARE NEVER 90 MINUTES AND YOU ARE PRESSURED FOR HOURS TO MAKE A PURCHASE. THEY EVEN BECOME ABUSIVE AS PART OF THEIR SALES STRATEGY.

BOOKVIP.COM DOES NOT DISCLOSE THIS FACT UNLESS YOU READ THEIR FINE PRINT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE. BE CAREFUL - DO NOT MAKE RESERVATIONS WITH BOOKVIP.COM

View more comments (1)

Title Happy Bookvip.com customer review at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort

A BookVip.com customer gives a review of their Gatlinburg TN vacation experience and quality of service with BookVip.com
View full review
Testimonial

Bookvip is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#616148 Review #616148 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good customer service
Bookvip's reply to:

Bookvip - Vacation Package Review

Ms. Guenther,

Thank you for your valuable feedback as we take customer issues very seriously. I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service. The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. You booked a reservation on 10/21/14 for the Occidental Grand Xcaret for 12/11/14. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a final confirmation number as the resort is paying the cost of the discounted vacation. We state on our travel receipt email the resort’s take approximately 3 to 7 business days to process your final confirmation as the need verify the terms and conditions they are set forth are not being circumvented. However, you decided to cancel on 10/23/14 and were never charged.
We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at James@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#553315 Review #553315 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Agent was friendly
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
just to warn others

I thought - Yeah! I'll listen to a 90 minute time share presentation and endure extremely high pressure sales to take my family to a beautiful all-inclusive in Cancun for $400 - no problem!!

I even thought I would book in a couple of extra nights full price.

When I went to make my reservation, I had already spent much time researching the resorts I was interested and narrowed it down to the perfect one for my family. I had talked to the book vip people 3 times to make sure that the dates my travel agent had given me for flights matched up with availability at the resort. .....Looking back now, I can see that the book vip people never told me any date was full, in fact they readily - without even looking it up it seems to me now, agreed to whatever dates I mentioned.

For the extra nights at the resort, booking them with vip would have cost me $300 extra per night. I thought that was high so I checked with the resort itself and it was $200/night. Book vip tried very hard to still get me to book the extra nights with them and took $ off but duhh!

At this point, I've booked my flights, booked 2 extra nights with the resort and went to book my 4 nights with book vip. First off they asked for my credit card # 3 times!! Which made me uncomfortable but I still went forward with the vacation for my 2 boys in mind. During the booking process, I was rushed through clicking "I agree" on a form of terms. Also was told at that time that there was an extra $20/night charge for processing ....still a great deal I thought.

About 2 or 3hrs later (and I am grateful it wasn't even longer than that as some people's experience has been closer to travel time,) I got a phone call from my booking agent with book vip, saying she was sorry but the dates I requested are not available and she had another resort that I could go to.

I was immediately refusing this "offer"; I had planned everything around this resort and had made triple sure that we would be able to stay there, - there was no way that I was willing to change it now. I insisted to speak with a manager and I was told that she would take it to the manager the following day and that I would be called back.

No call

So I called and no answer, I was put through to a customer satisfaction survey - twice.

....Then things started to make sense, I looked at my reservation confirmation and it does not mention the name of the resort, only that I agreed to have book vip book my vacation accommodations. They had my credit card info, a "signed" agreement from me and they could now make me stay in another cheaper place of their choosing, - one in which there is a bigger push to sell time shares at.

Now it made sense when I called, why the voice recording cautions you that resort you would like to stay at may be full.

In all the calls I made to book vip, I was put on hold once for 30 min (no one ever answered), told twice that a manager would call me back but NEVER did - until I finally cancelled my reservation completely.

You have 48 or 72hrs to cancel your reservation, and they are trying to stall until they bill your credit card.

I wrote them twice threatening legal action if my credit card was billed and in the end, I decided to just order a new card.

Once a manager called me back, she assured me that the dates I requested at the resort of my choosing were in fact available and she didn't understand what the agent I had spoken to was saying. I told her that I was cancelling because as I figured out, after allll of this time and energy spent dealing with book vip, I am better off paying the little bit of extra $$ (worked out to $400 at the resort I wanted to stay at) than deal with anything book vip could possibly have to offer me!

Oh and I want to also mention, that the resort themselves had never heard of book vip!

Also, I have been getting constant spam since they got my email address. I phoned today to ask to have my email taken off of their list and to tell them that they do not have my permission to sell my address. The rep replied - ok, we'll remove it.

9 comments
Anonymous
#924386

Thank you for the review (every one of them by others as well)

I feel there is too much continuity here for these experiences to be user error, people misinformed etc.

I am thankful to read these this morning, disappointed as well that this is happening.

I entered an online contest for a chance to win a family vacation. I was surprised this morning to find a message saying I was one of the winners. Disappointed, it looks like I and my kids are not, in actuality.

Thanks so much for the review, as I will not be making that phone call to claim the 5 nights in Cancun, at a resort of my choice, having 18 months to book.

Anonymous
#966614
@PissedConsumer924386

Just heard I'm a "winner" too, a day after entering the contest — I've won things before and it's a certified letter and real phone call, not a sketch-looking generic email…. Seems best not to call the claim phone number.

Anonymous
#909850

Does anyone know the physical mailing address to bookvip? I'm having my attorney serve them legal papers to get a refund and need to know where to send it.

This company is TERRIBLE!!!!

DON'T EVER USE THEM!!!

Anonymous
#910215
@PissedConsumer909850

Got it from their webpage.

Company Address

12345 W Dixie Hwy,

North Miami, FL 33161

Anonymous
#905659

Unfortunately I was unable to pull out in the nick of time. they stalled me off and switched me around and finally booked me in a dump.

Got my money and refused to cancel the unacceptable accommodations. I booked with Expedia and will contest the charges VIP SUCKS SCAM

Anonymous
#900564

Thank you for the review. I will definitely NOT be using this company. They sound shady...

Violet
#894685

Hello Anonymous,

I am very sorry to hear about your booking experience has the definitely close to our high standards as we are the largest provider of discounted resort promotional packages. We book over 50,000 vacation packages a year and have an "A-" rating with Better Business Bureau http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356#bbbseal

Please contact me directly as we are always looking to improve. Thank you

Anonymous
#915290
@Violet

Hello BookVIPOWNER!

Your days are numbered you crooked ***. Your whole company is crooks, scammers and false advertising in every sense of the term.

You will in fact be getting a class action lawsuit in addition to individual lawsuits. See folks, there are no owners that actually respond, these are automated or 3rd party damage control company putting this *** online. I book my VIP Vacation 2 months ago, today I get a call that the hotel cancelled and I would be getting moved. NO *** less than a month away from my family vacation and this *** is happening.

Oh the hotels on the BookVIP website, dont have any part of BOOKVIP, they use them to lure you in as bait, then you book, then they wait until they know you have all your plans, tickets, ect. and then BAM-------------they pull the switch and know your stuck and out of money and a vacation.!!!!!!!!

Anonymous
#939663
@Violet

I booked and I better not have this happen you myself and husband, my husbands dad is a lawyer and we will start a class action suit" so I'm not as worried as these other folks but ,I should have known to read reviews before I booked with you...so just a heads up, if I'm charged one doller more from what your site says, you will be sued ....

View more comments (8)
Bookvip's reply to:

BookVIP is a scam and ripoff

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we take all customers issues very seriously. We are able to look up reservations by the last name of customer, their email address, or telephone number, however, we are unable to locate any reservation with the information given by you to this web site. You can contact me direct at James@BookVip.com. As an owner, I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service.

The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as resort is paying the cost of discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented. We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at Jame@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#481314 Review #481314 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$1200

We planned a vacation with BookVIP.com and they cancelled our vacation that was confirmed by the Villa Del Parmar resort in Cancun, Mexico. We paid for a package and were also charged more for the package than agreed upon.

We then were told our reservation was cancelled by error and that they could not give us our original reservation. They then offered a terrible resort and to pay a minimal adjustment that wasn't what the resort was even being shown to be selling at. They harassed us repeatedly, would not let us speak with supervisors or their legal department as we requested.

We are now out a vacation and the $1,200.00 for airfare to Cancun because we have no intention, after this nightmare, to spend what we wanted to go there for which is a relaxing holiday.

They intentionally also called us several times a day and kept saying we cancelled our reservation. This actually caused us duress and it's criminal what they do. They are committing fraud by scamming people into a better resort and cancelling their reservations and trying to put people in a much less of a quality resort. The difference was night and day and we had not intention of traveling all the way there since they were so shady and dishonest.

Don't use these folks. We will be filing a legal claim and also requesting compensation for the damages caused due to the duress.

12 comments
Anonymous
#918383

booked and charged for one package, told it wasn't available unless I paid $640 more, told them I need to cancel reservation. They said management will call you back.

I 've called four times, never recieved a call back yet, never recieved any sort of cancellation notification or confirmation from any one.

It took one day to charge my card, now it's been 4 days and I can't even speak to any one about the cancellation and every time I call they say oh yes, I see your reservation here. Bait and switch or just thievery?

Anonymous
#918450
@PissedConsumer918383

Hello Mr. Hurth,

As I explained in my email and voice mail.

We sincerely apologize on any confusion, however, I assure it was definitely not intentional. The resort classifies your oldest child who is 18 as an adult and not a child. The 1 bedroom room occupancy allows for 2 adults and 3 children under the special promotion and we had to get an exception on this hotel rule which were able to get approved yesterday. As an owner I definitely stand behind our product and services as we are the largest travel promotions company and have an A rating with Better Business Bureau.

We definitely go extra lengths to get special approvals and I apologize if it was not expedited and communicated properly. That being said, I have made sure your refund is processed tonight.

Again, thank you for the valuable feedback and feel free to email James@rvitravel.net

Happy Holidays

Best,

James

Anonymous
#911367

Same happened to me - just now. Booked, accepted, then tried bait switch to... Holiday Inn.

Anonymous
#910366

Did you ever get anywhere with the legal end? I am looking at filing legally as well and try to get back some of which they have "screwed" me out of.

Anonymous
#894253

Scam artists.you have been warned

Violet
#894691
@PissedConsumer894253

Hello John,

We book over 50,000 vacation packages a year and have an "A-" rating with Better Business Bureau http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356#bbbseal

Please contact me directly at James@rvitravel.net as we are always looking to improve. Thank you

Anonymous
#878486

This is no surprize your *** commercial went on and on.

Anonymous
#849639

Mr. Colligan,

I tried to contact you.

We never tried to change the reservation and were called several times by parties asking for more money. Our reservation date was confirmed and then your agency cancelled it after we booked our airfare. We lost $500.00 in airfare when we had to change our tickets to use them to travel elsewhere.

We never tried to travel in a group, which both your staff and the resort told us, but we were only traveling alone....two of us, for a much needed vacation.

This is a scam and it cost us much.

We are looking to file complaints and sue for our lost travel and the emotional distress that your staff caused repeatedly harassing us over the phone and lying that we cancelled our reservation. We didn't and your staff it seems never did what they were required to do.

Additionally we asked for a stay at a comparable resort which was possible and they tried to put us in hotels that were a fraction of the cost and rated with two stars on many sites.

Your agency was a nightmare to work with and we've posted this because we travel often, know the ins and outs of such promotional deals and were interested in the property. Your unprofessionalism needs to be known to others.

We also tried to e-mail you and no response. Thank you

Violet
#822867

Hello Gammica,

I am one of the owners of Bookvip.com and you can contact me directly james@rvitravel.net. We are the largest travel promotions company and handle over a ten of thousands special promotion packages per year without any issue.

Like any company, we are not perfect and we are always looking to improve. The most difficult part in selling the discounted promotional packages are the terms and conditions that the resort sets as they are ones subsidizing the cost of the rooms for qualified customers to listen to their vacation ownership /timeshare presentation. Again, the rooms are discounted many times over $1000 in exchange of the customer's time and meeting the resort's qualifications. Where most issues occur is where the customer tries to circumvent the resort's qualifications and the resort denies the reservation or where rooms become unavailable due to sold out dates in which we always refund the customer.

One of the most difficult items we deal with is group travel as the resorts don't permit it with the promotion.

All of these terms & conditions are disclosed on the site as well. Each customer signs electronically the terms & conditions before we ever charge a customer.

Again, I appreciate your feed back and look forward to hearing from you

Sincerely,

James Colligan

Owner BookVip.com

Anonymous
#849570
@Violet

That's the same answer you used on another web site. You didn't address the problem!!!!!!!

View more comments (11)
Bookvip's reply to:

BookVIP is a rip off and fraud. Don't book with them

Thank you for your valuable feedback. As an owner, I pride myself in BookVip offering the most discounted vacation packages and having an A+ rating Better Business Bureau for our customer service. The reason we can offer packages 70% off the retail rates is because the resorts subsidize the cost of these discounted vacations in exchange for your time during the resort preview. The resort verifies each reservation before issuing a confirmation number as resort is paying the cost of discounted vacation. A majority of the issues occur when the resort finds the terms & conditions are being circumvented. We will send over 300,000 families on dreams vacations alone this year! We have more actual customer video reviews than any other travel site. http://bookvip.com/sitereviews As a rapidly growing company we are not always perfect, however, I can be contacted directly at Jame@BookVip.com to resolve any issue or you can our call customer service call customer service 24/7 at 888 845 0602. Thank you
ID
#481313 Review #481313 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$1200

We recently book a vacation with BookVIP and it was for a timeshare in Cancun called the Villa Del Parmar. It was originally priced at $399.00 and by the time we paid it totaled over $600.00. We had a confirmed reservation and made our flight plans and then they cancelled our reservation without cause. They tried to put us in a much less desirable hotel, one with a room the third of the size and non-comparable. They told us they'd pay the fees, about a hundred dollars and a refund of $150.00 but that still did not make up for the dump they tried to put us in.

Additionally they kept harassing us and telling us we cancelled the reservation and that if we didn't accept the other reservation they'd cancel the contract. Well they violated their contract when they cancelled our reservation and we are now out money for our airfare.

Also our credit card was compromised by using them between the resort and them because those are the only two places we used our card.

Do not use this company. They are a scam and we not will have to take legal action and have no vacation.

11 comments
Anonymous
#934164

A true nightmare after their website wrongly booked a non requested vacation on wrong days, I personally called fiesta Americana cabos to cancel my self as they owe me a favor, fiesta cancelled and these other people had no choice to reimburse me. Attention they are affiliated to Expedia, so their deals can't beat Expedia 's YES they are scammers

Anonymous
#930710

I am so glad I read the reviews before I went ahead and booked at this site. I am getting married and would have been devastated. Thank You for the heads up!

Anonymous
#918390

I booked and was charged with book vip for this same cancun package and then was told that the package wasn't availble unless I paid another $640.00. I said that I couldn't afford it and needed to cancel, so they said that management would call me back later that day.

No call. I have called several time and always got the same run around. Management will call you today. No call.

I have not recieved any confirmation of cancellaton or anything.

Classic bait and switch? Or just thievery?

Anonymous
#900565

Love how "James" gives the same generic response on the complaints. thanks for the heads up, you saved me a and many others a huge headache.

Anonymous
#897029

Thanks for the insights!

I will not buy from these scammers!

Violet
#894689

I am very sorry to hear about your booking experience has the definitely close to our high standards as we are the largest provider of discounted resort promotional packages. We book over 50,000 vacation packages a year and have an "A-" rating with Better Business Bureau http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/business-reviews/travel-agencies/resort-vacations-international-in-natchitoches-la-90048356#bbbseal

Please contact me directly at James@rvitravel.net as we are always looking to improve. Thank you

Anonymous
#916044
@Violet

Just stop with the "high standards" you aren't fooling anyone and it's insulting to act as if you're so innocent and can't understand that HUNDREDS of people have been scammed by you. I can't wait to see a class-action suit come out on you ***-bags.

Anonymous
#889213

thank you i was going to book , but i can understand that it could be a scam because they want to sell time share there in for the money for sure.

Anonymous
#866400

Thanks, I will look elsewhere for our vacation.

Violet
#822868

Hello Anonymous,

I am one of the owners of Bookvip.com and you can contact me directly james@rvitravel.net. We are the largest travel promotions company and handle over a ten of thousands special promotion packages per year without any issue.

Like any company, we are not perfect and we are always looking to improve. The most difficult part in selling the discounted promotional packages are the terms and conditions that the resort sets as they are ones subsidizing the cost of the rooms for qualified customers to listen to their vacation ownership /timeshare presentation. Again, the rooms are discounted many times over $1500 in exchange of the customer's time and meeting the resort's qualifications. Where most issues occur is where the customer tries to circumvent the resort's qualifications and the resort denies the reservation or where rooms become unavailable due to sold out dates in which we always refund the customer.

One of the most difficult items we deal with is group travel as the resorts don't permit it with the promotion.

All of these terms & conditions are disclosed on the site as well. Each customer signs electronically the terms & conditions before we ever charge a customer.

Again, I appreciate your feed back and look forward to hearing from you

Sincerely,

James Colligan

Owner BookVip.com

View more comments (10)